Alla Zagaykevych


Born in Khmelnytsky (Ukraine) on 17 December 1966. She graduated from Kiev State P.I.Tchaikovsky Conservatoire (now National Music Academy of Ukraine), the class of composition and orchestration of Prof. Ju.Ischenko (1990). In 1993-1994 she there made her postgraduate studies in music theory with Prof. I.P’jaskovsky and in composition with Prof. Ju.Ischenko. In 1995-1996 she attended annual course for composition and musical informatics at the IRCAM (Paris, France; composition seminars by T.Murail, B.Ferneyhough, M.Jarrell, M.Stroppa, Ph.Manouri). In 1986-1999 she was a member of the folklore Ensemble "Drevo" of the National Music Academy of Ukraine, Director Je.Jefremov, where she investigated Ukrainian authentic singing and participated in numerous folkloric expeditions, conferences, festivals.
Since 1998 she is a lecturer at the Music Information Technologies’ Department of the National Music Academy of Ukraine (Kiev), where she founded the Musical Electronic Studio.
Her oeuvre’s mainstream is symphonic and chamber music, chamber music theatre, and electronic acoustic music. In 2000 she made musical programming of the electronic work in the terms of the Lithuanian composer S.Nakas’ project "Ziqquratu II" as well as the electronic composition for the Ukrainian painter Oksana Plysjuk’s video-installation "Cosi Fan Tutte".
Her works are performed by known Ukrainian and foreign musicians: the National Symphony Orchestra of Ukraine; chamber orchestras - Rivne Chamber Orchestra (Ukraine), Chernihiv Chamber Orchestra (Ukraine), Ukrainian State Kiev Kamerata Soloists’ Ensemble (chamber orchestra – Kiev, Ukraine), Kiev Chamber Orchestra Archi (Ukraine), Kamersymphoniker (Austria); ensembles CAT (Ukraine), Cluster (L’viv, Ukraine), Frescos (Odessa, Ukraine), Ricochet (Kiev, Ukraine), Court-Circuit Ensemble (France), Ensemble Contemporain de Montr?al (Canada).
Participated in numerous international festivals for contemporary music as well as interdisciplinary and international projects, e.g. "Musical installations and electronic music" in the International Theatre Festival "Mystec’ke Berezillja" (Kiev, 1997).
In 1999 she was awarded the grant of the President of Ukraine for the production of her chamber opera "Chysla i viter" ("Maljunki z pam’jati") ["Numbers and Wind" ("Drawings by Memory")] on verses by Mykola Vorobjov (L.Revutsky Prize of Ministry of Culture and Art of Ukraine, 2001). Since 1997 she has regularly received grants from the International Renaissance Foundation for implementing her creative and educational projects.
Author of musicological articles in scientific periodicals (Ukrajins’ke Muzykoznavstvo, v.52; Muzyka, 1996; a.o.).
Member of Ukrainian Composers’ Union (since 1993).


2002 "Gravitation" for 2 cellos: 7`
"The Way to the Great River"
("Shljakh do Velykoji riky") on the text by O.Lysheha (in English) for soprano and 8 instrumentalists (fl, ob, cl, prc, p, vn, vl, vc): 10`
"To Escape, to Breathe, to Keep Silence"
("Tikaty, dykhaty, movchaty"), electronic music for audio-video installation: 45`
"Cosí Fan Tutte"
, electronic music for audio-video installation (video: O.Plysjuk): 54`
for violin (or flute), clarinet and cello (version of the "Choven" on verses by M.Vorobjov, 1999): 12`
on verses by M.Vorobjov (in Ukrainian) for soprano, mezzo-soprano and baritone (instrumental version: "Choven", 2000): 12`
"Chemins des Ombres"
for trombone, percussion and contrabass: 10`
for flute, clarinet, bassoon, horn, trombone, percussion (2), piano, violin, alto, cello, double bass: 10`
for soprano and piano: 10`
"Numbers and Wind"
("Drawings by Memory") {("Chysla i viter", "Maljunki z pam'jati')}, chamber opera on verses by M. Vorobjov (in Ukrainian) (3 voices, fl, cl, fg, cr, tn, prc - 2, p, vn, vl, vc, cb): 60`
"Ausgesetzt auf den Bergen des Herzens..."
on verses by Rainer Maria Rilke (in German) for soprano and orchestra: 12`
"Et dans un long tournoiement j'entrerai dedans l'étang céleste"
("I povoli kruzhljajuchi ja uvijdu v nebesnyj stav") on verses by Oleh Lysheha (in Ukrainian) for bassoon, double bass, clarinet/bass clarinet, electronics (IRCAM) : 13`
"Musique Aveugle"
for piano and orchestra: 15`
"Sans l'Eloignement de la Terre"
for violin, accordion and guitar: 15`
for symphony orchestra: 11`
for violin, cello and piano: 12`
on verses by V.Majakovsky (in Russian) for baritone and symphony orchestra: 20`